Wednesday, March 5, 2014

Whoa Nelly! Tons of Southern Culture on the Skids US tour dates!

Everyone's favorite banana puddin'-eatin' North Carolinians, Southern Culture on the Skids, have a whole mess a' tour dates coming up, starting in their home town of Chapel Hill, NC on March 14th before they had to Houston and then Austin for SXSW, followed by the midwest, south, and then California.

The first show is part of a UNC celebration of 30 years (!!) of SCOTS which sounds like something we would never, ever miss if we lived in Chapel Hill. Here's what the band has to say about it:

Hey Folks, this is pretty dang COOL!! The Southern Folklife Collection at UNC (that's the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, for folks not from around these parts) has gathered up a Rock-n-Roll Hall of Fame style collection of SCOTS memorabilia, including the kustom pin-striped La-Z-Boy recliner that graces the cover of the "Plastic Seat Sweat" album, tons of photos from the early days of SCOTS, guitars, basses, drumheads, videos, and other rarities and they've put together an exhibit they're calling "Lard Have Mercy! 30 Years of Southern Culture On The Skids". We'll be playing opening night at the Historic Playmakers Theater on campus in conjunction with the exhibit and the annual conference of the International Association for the Study of Popular Music. The show is free, but ticketed as space is limited. Check the link for more info: http://blogs.lib.unc.edu/sfc/index.php/2014/02/12/lard-have-mercy-30-years-of-southern-culture-on-the-skids/#sthash.KJGeWv7F.dpuf

Check out the tour dates below, and below that, an old but awesome video of SCOTS doing "Mojo Box."



Fri 3/14/2014
Chapel Hill, NC
the Southern Folklife Collection at UNC
Fri 3/28/2014
Houston, TX
Sat 3/29/2014
Houston, TX
Tue 4/1/2014
Austin, TX
Wed 4/2/2014
Austin, TX
Thu 4/3/2014
Austin, TX
Fri 4/4/2014
Austin, TX
Sat 4/5/2014
Austin, TX
Sat 4/19/2014
Wilmington, NC
Fri 4/25/2014
Charleston, WV
Sat 4/26/2014
Cleveland, OH
Sun 4/27/2014
Columbus, OH
Rumba Cafe Doors at 6pm, show at 8pm
Tue 4/29/2014
Newport, KY
Wed 4/30/2014
Indianapolis, IN
Thu 5/1/2014
Lexington, KY
Fri 5/2/2014
Louisville, KY
Fri 5/30/2014
Avon, NC
Sat 5/31/2014
Morehead City, NC
Fri 6/20/2014
San Diego, CA
Sat 6/21/2014
Los Angeles, CA
The Echo early show!
Sun 6/22/2014
San Luis Obispo, CA
Mon 6/23/2014
Fresno, CA
Wed 6/25/2014
Sacramento, CA
Thu 6/26/2014
San Francisco, CA
Fri 6/27/2014
Cloverdale, CA
Sat 6/28/2014
Santa Cruz, CA
Sun 6/29/2014
Ventura, CA
Mon 6/30/2014
Santa Ana, CA


No comments:

Post a Comment